(Finalist) – Frank Luther Mott – Kappa Tau Alpha Journalism & Mass Communication Research Award


Frank Luther Mott-Kappa Tau Alpha Journalism & Mass Communication Research Award

Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 12.28.45 PM

Named in honor of Frank Luther Mott, Pulitzer Prize winner, educator and long-time leader of Kappa Tau Alpha, the award is made for the best research-based book about journalism or mass communication published each year.

Kappa Tau Alpha, the national college honor society founding in 1910 for scholarship in journalism and mass communication, has recognized research contributions to the field since the inauguration of the award in 1944. The winning author receives a $1000 prize.

Entries are judged by a panel of university professors of journalism and mass communication and national officers of Kappa Tau Alpha.

Maurine H.Beasley won the award for the best book published in 2012 for Women of the Washington Press: Politics, Prejudice and Persistence (Northwestern University Press). The book recounts the journalists’ contributions to journalism and politics, “but more important their determination, struggle, craftiness and indefatigable spirit” (Peter J.Gade, University of Oklahoma). “Beasley demonstrates the institutional discrimination against which women reporters had to fight, putting journalism’s glass ceiling into greater historical context” (Andrew Mendelson, Temple University). The book traces how Washington journalism changed from a male-dominated one to a time when women were the bureau chiefs of all the major networks, the Associated Press and some major newspapers.

Other finalists were Brooke Kroeger forUndercover Reporting: The Truth About Deception(Northwestern University Press); Jonathan M. Ladd for Why Americans Hate the Media and How It Matters (Princeton University Press; and Tom Mascaro for Into the Fray: How NBC’s Washington Documentary Unit Reinvented the News (Potomac Books).

Books with a 2013 copyright will be received until Dec. 9, 2013. Books with a 2013 copyright received after the entry deadline may be accepted if arrangements are made prior to the deadline.

Edited volumes (i.e., collected works by several authors), textbooks and revised editions previously entered are not eligible. Paperback editions are acceptable. To enter, send six copies to:

Dr. Keith Sanders
KTA Executive Director
School of Journalism
76 Gannett Hall
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211-1200

For further information, write, phone (573) 882-7685 or e-mail (umcjourkta@missouri.edu).

Click for a list of previous winners.

National History Day contestants, please read this before you contact me.

The Suffragents won the Gold Medal in US History in the 2018 Independent Publisher Book Awards and was a finalist for the 2018 Sally and Morris Lasky Prize, presented by the Center for Political History.  See Summer Camp Newsletters” and Facebook posts from book-related appearances. Reviews, notices, and articles about my books are under their titles here. My articles are here.

Upcoming Events: September 23: Bentson Dean’s Lecture, College of Arts and Science, New York University. October 17: Suffragents Panel, National Archives, Washington DC.  [2020] March 27 Ephemera Society of America, 40th annual conference, Old Greenwich CT. June 4-6Métiers et professions des médias (XVIIIe-XXIe siècles),”  Université de Lausanne (Switzerland).

Happened 2019: Exhibition Opening Remarks: “Women Get the Vote: A Historic Look at the Nineteenth Amendment,“New York Society Library. February 23: Public Values in Conflict with Animal Agribusiness Practices,” UCLA Law School, Los Angeles.  March 13: The Suffragents,” Scarsdale Woman’s Club, Scarsdale NY. March 24: League of Women Voters, Albany County at the Bethlehem (NY) Public LibraryMarch 25:Judges, Lawyers, and Women’s Suffrage: Recognizing the Men Who Stood with Women on the Front Lines,” Gender Fairness Committee of the Third Judicial District, CLE, NY State Courts at SUNY Albany Law School, Albany NY. May 15: “The Republican Suffragents,” National Women’s Republican Club, New York City. August 7:  Panel, “From Emma Goldman to the Marketplace of Ideas: Marking the 100th Anniversary of Free Speech at the Supreme Court.” (page 40) AEJMC, Toronto. August 14: Webinar, National Park Service.